Peer Institutions

The following list identifies those institutions selected by the Board of Regents as UNK’s peers. Below you will see those who have gone 100% Tobacco or Smoke Free in bold and in blue.


University of Central Arkansas – 100% Tobacco-Free, June 2012.

University of Northern Colorado – Tobacco-Free Initiative in place.

Western Illinois University – Smoking allowed 25 feet from buildings.

University of Northern Iowa – 100% smoke-free.

Murray State University – Designated Smoking Areas.

Northern Michigan University – Designated Smoking Areas.

Minnesota State University-Moorhead – 100% Tobacco-Free, January 2008.

University of Central Missouri – 100% Tobacco-Free, July 2014.

Sam Houston State University – 100% Tobacco -Free, June 2012.

University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point – Tobacco-Free Initiative in place.